Review: August 2013 Ipsy Glam Bag

Let me just say this, I loooooove subscription bags. Currently, I’m subscribed to Ipsy (2 bags), Julep, and Wantable’s makeup and accessory boxes. I was subscribed to Lip Factory for a few months but evidently I didn’t like it enough to continue my subscription with them and I cancelled after 4 months.

Today’s review is on Ipsy’s August glam bag. I’ve been meaning to write a review on Ipsy for a few months now, but since I’m in Canada I usually don’t get my bags on time for me to justify a review since there’s so many of them out there. This month however, I received my bag a day after shipping notifications went out. I amΒ impressed.

For those of you who don’t know, Ipsy is a monthly makeup subscription program created by Youtube guru Michelle Phan whom I’ve been following for a few years now. Each bag has 4-5 beauty products in it packed inside a makeup bag. It costs $10 to subscribe but Canadian’s have to pay $4.95 shipping plus the conversion rate so I usually end up paying ~$16 for each bag.Β But I have to say, it is SO worth it. I decided to get a second subscription just because of how great the value Ipsy bags are compared to other subscriptions.

Let’s take a look at what I got this month..

Wantable accessories box (look out for a post on that later!) and my two Ipsy bags

Wantable accessories box (look out for a post on that later!) and my two Ipsy bags

Each Ipsy bag comes in a hot pink bubble mailer bag which I think is so unique to the company.

the bag!

the bag!

Each month, Ipsters get a bag designed around a monthly theme.Β The theme of this month’s bag is “Glamour Academy”. On the right, you can see my bonus item I got for referring two people before August 1st – Lime Crime’s Crema de Limon. There’s a lot of controversy surrounding Lime Crime’s products so generally I’ve stayed away from purchasing them. But I didn’t get to choose my bonus item so this is a rather sneaky way to try their products :P

Contents!

Contents!

In this bag I got Nailtini’s Mai Tai, Michael Todd’s Pumpkin Face Mask, Pixi’s Lash Booster Mascara, Mica Beauty’s Shimmer Powder in Bronze, and UD’s 69 deluxe sized lipstick. I’m pretty interested in the Michael Todd mask so I’ll be using that pretty soon. I already have a HG mascara so I’m not too sure how much I’ll like the Pixi Mascara and I got Nailtini’s Mai Tai nail polish in July’s bag so I’ll be giving that away. But I really like the eyeshadow and the lipstick and I still think for $16, the value of this bag is amazing.

Mica Beauty Shimmer Powder in Bronze

Mica Beauty Shimmer Powder in Bronze

This is Mica Beauty’s Shimmer Powder in Bronze. I received an eyeshadow from them in a Ipsy’s April glam bag but that was in the colour Earth which was a beautiful pink eyeshadow with gold shimmer in it. Bronze is a lot more sheer than Earth is but it still has the same shimmer to it (hence the name “Shimmer Powder”). I think this will look really good as an overshadow on top of more pigmented bronze-y eyeshadows.

UD Revolution Lipstick in 69

UD Revolution Lipstick in 69

This is the new Urban Decay Revolution Lipstick in the shade 69. I was really surprised that I got the lipstick as usually I tend to get “OR” items that generally aren’t popular. This is just a deluxe size at 0.03oz or 1 gram. It’s sooo cute and I really love that they sent us samples because I will definitely be purchasing more!

Swatches!  Left swatch is the lipstick swiped once, right swatch is the lipstick swiped twice

Swatches!
Left swatch is the lipstick swiped once, right swatch is the lipstick swiped twice

I’m currently testing out the formula on my lips right now so I can’t say much about it’s staying power yet. But it applied really smooth and it is incredibly pigmented — I could get away with just dabbing the lipstick on my lips rather than swiping it and get the same opaque look. It’s slightly moisturizing and sort of feels like a really heavy lip balm but since I’ve only been wearing it for an hour so far, I don’t know if it will be drying later as it fades.

So overall, I was really impressed with this month’s bag. Generally, Ipsy doesn’t disappoint me as I’ve either loved or been satisfied every month. This is a subscription I’ll be sticking with in the long run!

If you’re interested in joining Ipsy, feel free to use my referral link. For every two people who subscribe using my link, I’ll be able to get a bonus item :)

http://www.ipsy.com/?refer=u-h8xgrxarklxuo5k

Thank you!

2 thoughts on “Review: August 2013 Ipsy Glam Bag

  1. Pingback: My Ipsy Glam Bag August | 50 Things Before I Turn 50

Leave a Reply

